Drafts

Not the kind you get under doors. I’ve currently got three novels on the go, two with complete drafts and one in progress. Book one is currently having its third draft worked on.

Thing is, I’m not one of these authors who changes huge amounts of story between drafts. The major revisions have been adding in plot hooks in book one to lead into stuff that happens in book two. So while the drafting process seems like a great idea, it’s not that much use to me in reality.

I do, on the other hand, like having more than one book in progress at a time. I finish the first draft of one, and then start on the next. That gives me time to forget what I wrote enough that I read it fresh on the next review. You spot so many more errors and things which need some fine-tuning that way.

Enormous chnages between drafts, do they work for you?

Leave a Reply

