The “Where’s My Story Going” Blues

So a couple of days ago I wrote a little update saying that Book 2, Demon’s Moon, was going fairly well, and so it is. I figure the third draft will tighten a few things up, but I’m moderately happy with the plot. I recall getting to about 40,000 words with that one and thinking, “I don’t have enough plot to fill this out.” I finished it without trying to add extra scenes and it was longer than Book 1.

Well the same isn’t happening with Book 3! I’ve reached that stage where I’m looking at Book 3 thinking, “do I really want this book to go this way?” I’m happy enough with the start, and with some of the bits, but this one needs some serious revision. Which is kind of depressing, when you think about it. I’ve spent hours writing this plotline, and I’m unhappy with the way it’s progressing. It’s demotivating.

This isn’t quite writer’s block. I know more or less where the story should go the way it’s written and I could continue. However, I don’t think I like the way the story is heading. I need to peel things back a bit, change some some stuff way back at the start, maybe even tweak some bits of Book 2, and then let things roll out again; hopefully it’ll start walking down a happier path.

So, what do you do when things just aren’t going right in your writing?

2 thoughts on “The “Where’s My Story Going” Blues

Leave a Reply

