The Dragon Queen

Brenhines, or Gwyn as she likes to be known when she’s being informal, is a dragon. Her name means Queen, and when she appears in Dragon’s Blood she is very much the haughty, regal character her name implies. She normally keeps herself to herself; living alone on the island of Anglesey off the Welsh coast and emerging only to give cryptic warnings, but she is also the dragon who gave Ceri her slightly modified genes and allowed her to be a sorceress, and Brenhines is protective of her children. And that’s even if her children were born thousands of years after she was involved in the process.

We will definitely be seeing more of Brenhines in the future.

(As usual, the full size version of this art can be found on my deviantArt page. Link at the side.)

2 thoughts on “The Dragon Queen

  1. I don’t know why, but in my mind I see her to be… well.. a bit more flashy?

    I’ll try to explain that a little…

    I think that in the past she was more of bright colours and warmth than she is now, of course what happened to her then would change her attitude and more. Still I don’t think that her colours should be so muted and earthen. I feel like she has more of a blue palette to her. Perhaps light blue in the past when things were better for her and more deep blue now with her mood and view on the universe…

    Perhaps blue with golden trimmings?

    Have to ponder that some…

    • I’ll be honest, I thought the dress looked good on her and I didn’t have another texture for it.
      In the books she’s often portrayed wearing white, often relatively simple gowns. This would go back more to her quieter phase, especially during the Dark Ages, but I can see “Gwyn” wearing this around her home. But you’ll have to wait for Hammer of Witches for more about what she’s been up to.

Leave a Reply

