A Note on Pronounciation

I never seem to have time to read, and that’s a bad thing for a writer. I do have time to listen though, so I resubscribed to Audible and I’ve been listening to auiobooks. This works and I’m getting through far more books this way. All well and good.

Now, one book I’ve been stuck on for a while is book 4 on the Rachel Morgan/Hollows series, A Fistfull of Charms. I have a soft spot for Rachel, Ivy, and Jenks; these are the books which got me writing the Thaumaology stories. I read the first couple, and started writing, and then I read the third one over Christmas and was embarrassed to discover that one of the characters was called Ceridwen. Still, it is a great name, and my Ceri spells it with a ‘y’.

Anyway, today I picked up the audiobook and I hit one irritating thing instantly. The narrator was pronouncing Ceri like “Seri.” Ceridwen (or Ceridwyn) is a Welsh name (here’s the Wikipedia entry for the “original” Ceridwen: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceridwen) and the Welsh tend to pronounce their ‘c’ as a ‘k’. It’s usually a hard sound, not a soft one. Ceridwen is Kair-id-wen, Ceri is Kerry. Did the producers of the audiobook just get it wrong? How did Kim Harrison mean it to be pronounced? Is this an American thing and the Brits reading this will be going, “Of course it’s a hard ‘C’!”

Enquiring minds wish to know! (Maybe I should ask Kim Harrison… hmmm.)

2 thoughts on “A Note on Pronounciation

  1. So, I asked and Ms Harrison pronounces it Serry, even though she knows it should be Kerry. Which is fair since I can’t consider a leading C as anything except to K. University in Wales did funny things to my English pronounciation. (The famous example was Jodrell Bank observatory, which both me and my then partner used to call “Jodreth Bank” because ‘ll’ in Welsh is pronounced a bit like ‘thl’.)

Leave a Reply

